The Catholic Agency for Justice, Peace and Development


As an agency based in Oceania, Caritas Aotearoa New Zealand considers our region a priority.

We aim to allocate 70 per cent of our development funds to this region. Key development areas focus on:

  • livelihoods - sustainable agriculture and microfinance
  • climate change and environment
  • peace building and reconciliation
  • supporting young people
  • land use and rights
  • gender issues

The Oceania region covers a vast area, encompassing diverse islands, climates, geographies and indigenous peoples. Caritas funds development programmes in Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, West Papua and Tonga. We also respond to natural disasters and civil emergencies in the region.

Sign up to the caritas monthly e-newsletter:

Tutu ana te puehu - Stirring up the dust